Hello everybody, I just started learning C and decided to join this site. But as soon as I posted some of my code snippets here, immediately I got a stream of insults (thanks to conio.h ). But it's not my fault, I've grown on clrscr() and getch() (due to my experience with C++).

I'm looking for a solution here. Can anyone give me a link to such a compiler which does not support conio.h . I've read the thread "Starting C" and downloaded DEV C++ but it also supported conio.h and hence I wasted my precious MBs. It should be light weight and not be resource hungry.

Second is, I want a good book(pdf would be nice) about C DATA STRUCTURES. Even a site will do.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

That post has become to big ;)
I wish you could have give me a more precise link
Ah well ...

You are a bit lazy

I am
And a (precise) link about data structures ...

>But as soon as I posted some of my code snippets
>here, immediately I got a stream of insults

If you're insulted by people correcting your mistakes, you need to adjust your attitude. Why? Because unless you're some kind of C demigod, you're going to make mistakes and people will correct them. Especially here, since Daniweb has a few members who know a lot about C.

>But it's not my fault, I've grown on clrscr() and getch() (due to my experience with C++).
clrscr and getch are just as non-portable in C++.

>Can anyone give me a link to such a compiler which does not support conio.h
Why not just avoid using conio.h? Every compiler has non-portable extensions and libraries. The best way to write portable code is to understand where the line between standard and non-standard is. There's not a perfect tool for doing that, you'll have to actually use your brain.

>Second is, I want a good book(pdf would be nice)
>about C DATA STRUCTURES. Even a site will do.