Hi,

I am working on a program, it asks user for a file name and opens that file with that name, do some calculations and create a new file with the filename.output (.output is the extension) and save the contents into it. I have been working on it for a while. But while I did able to figured out the part where it ask the user for the file name and open that new..., I can't figure out how to actually add the extension. (I am new to programming...)

Because the file name will not be a know size, I am not sure where could I start adding the .output to the file name. I understand char fileName is just an array of char, but I don't know where to start adding...

ifstream infile ;
char fileName[20] ;
cout << "Enter the file name: " << endl ;
cin >> fileName ;
infile.open( fileName ) ;
// ofstream of(FileName.output, ios::out)

for exampe, the user entered "word.txt", I would like the output to be word.txt.output. But I am not know how long the name would be in advance, all I know is it will be 1-15 characters long. The last line doesn't work, because the file name isn't like the string i used to work with, I can't just do fileName + ".output".What could I do in this situation? Thanks in advance for all helps.

My thoughts: Could it be possible for me to read the file name as a string, and add the extension ".output" to the string, and then convert it back to an array of chars? I really think there are easier ways to do this... I feel I am making this more complicated than it really should be. I am not sure... (for open the file, I need it to be char, so I am doing this thing twice at least).

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Could it be possible for me to read the file name as a string, and add the extension ".output" to the string, and then convert it back to an array of chars?

I'm glad you mentioned this. String class objects are very versitle and can handle virtually any input the user might throw at you.