I have been coding in C++ for a few years now and am comfortable with OOP concepts and Data Structures.
Now I wish to pursue a higher level language which will hwlp me in application development. After much reading, I arrived at C# and Java.
Which one should I pursue?
Some people say Java, because its open source (so what?) and has a larger community.
Some people say C# because its is standardised, has great tools to increase productivity (Visual Studio) and is faster and more efficient than Java.

So, the only reason not to go ahead with C# comes down to its not being open source. Also I read that most C# applications are compatible with UNIX systems using the mono project.

So, Java or C#? and why?

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Member Avatar for 9w43

Learning Java now is like saying later on I will learn C#, as for as I know Java doesn't have solid future plan unlike MS who comes up with new version on C# and they have a road map for it.

Learning Java years ago was the right thing but now no-one knows where its heading. Learn C#

Learning Java now is like saying later on I will learn C#, as for as I know Java doesn't have solid future plan unlike MS who comes up with new version on C# and they have a road map for it.

Learning Java years ago was the right thing but now no-one knows where its heading. Learn C#

As your other posts shows you have low level of Java background so such underestimation of Java from you is no big surprise.

Java or C#? and why? It is one of never ending battles and it is difficult to not go one sided on this. Therefore I will do only few clarifications.

>>Some people say C# because its is standardised, has great tools to increase productivity (Visual Studio) and is faster and more efficient than Java.