With the following line I get a syntex error relating to the ifstream file

if ifstream file(filename.c_str()).find string1
	   ++counter;

I have already declared the input file and do not understand why there is an error. Sorry for seeming dumb but I am new to this!!

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Woah - that's not even close. What are you trying to do there?

I'm trying to see if a pre-declared string is in the input file and if it is increment the counter

Many ways to do it, here's one. (Off the top of my head). Even if your syntax were correct, you actually didn't read any file contents before comparing it's content...

[/left]
[left]string string1="WHATEVER";[/left]
ifstream file(filename.c_str());

if ( !file.is_open() )
		 return; // or otherwise stop execution
string buffer;

while ( ! file.eof() )
{
		 getline( file, buffer );
		 if ( buffer.find( string1 ) != -1)
				++counter;
}
file.close();

Thanks for the help, its working at last!!!

>> while ( ! file.eof() )
You shouldn't use <stream>.eof() as a loop condition. Because the eofbit is only set after a request for input has failed, you'll increment the counter once more than necessary if the last line contains the search string. A better way to read input is to use the return value of your input function:

while (getline(file, buffer)) {
  if (buffer.find(string1) != string::npos)
    ++counter;
}

>> if ( buffer.find( string1 ) != -1)
Okay, this is a subtle error. string::npos is defined as (size_t)-1, which is not the same as -1. Your test may or may not work as written, so you should use string::npos directly for tests such as this one.

>> file.close();
There's no need to close an fstream explicitly if the destructor is going to be called. Just FYI.

I'll agree with the first 2 corrections . With the 3rd, I prefer to close explicitly and not wait, to better avoid possibly hitting the maximum open files of the operating system. (In case I have a program that opens many files at a time)