Hello,

This is my first question in this forum :)
I'm new in GDI+ and C# programming, though I have an experience in other programming languages.

Here is my question:
I started a new Windows Form Application project in Visual Studio 2008.
Then I double-clicked the Paint event of the form and added the following line to the Form1_Paint(..) method:

private void Form1_Paint(object sender, PaintEventArgs e)
{
     [B]e.Graphics.DrawEllipse(Pens.Red, 0, 0, 50, 50);[/B]
}

When I run the application I do see the circle, but I don't really understand what happened.
More specifically:
1) When does Form1_Paint(..) called ?
2) When does the Paint event of the form is raised ?
3) Why the Paint event is raised when I run the application ?
4) Why the circle is actually drawn on the form ? i.e. what is the relationship between the form class, the "PaintEventArgs e" argument, and the "e.Graphics" object ?

I will appreciate any help !
Thanks in advance !

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

The Paint event is raised when the Form is first shown, this is to give the Form its initial appearance. When you show a Form it enters a message loop. Messages are sent from the Operating System. If you look at the Windows API, there are some flags that determine when the window should be redrawn (e.g. horizontal or vertical resize). The paint event can also be called from within the application. The form creates a Graphics object, filling it with the background colour of the form, then when the Paint event has finished calling all of the delegates it can use the Graphics object to write the pixels to the monitor.

Hope this helps to clarify things.

1) When does Form1_Paint(..) called ?
Its called when the form needs to be repainted, see 2

2) When does the Paint event of the form is raised ?