Hi

I have been having this issue for a while and cannot figure how should I start to do this with python. Actually Im not a programmer but would like to learn it. Not just because of this (what topic title) says but, for sure, for other advantages to.
I need the script that moves entire (100% of the text) text from one .doc file to another. But its not so easy as it sounds. The target .doc file is not the only one but can be many of them. All the target .doc files are always in the same folder (same path) but all of them don't have the same name. The .doc file FROM where I want to move entire text is only one, always in the same folder (same path) and always with the same file name.
Names of the target are only similar but as I have said before, not the same. Here is the point of whole script:
Target .doc files have the names:
HD1.doc
HD2.doc
HD3.doc
HD4.doc
and so on

What I would like to have is moved the entire (but really all of the text, must be 100% all) text into the .doc file with the highest ( ! ) number. The target .doc files will always start with ''HD'' and always be similar to above examples.
It is possible that the doc file (target file) is only one, so only HD1.doc. Therefore ''1'' is the maximum number and the text is moved into this file.
Sometimes the target file is empty but usually won't be. If it won't be then the text should be moved to the end of the text, into first new line (no empty lines inbetween).
So for example in the target file which has the maximum number in its name is the following text:

a
b
c

In the file from which I want to move the text is:

d

This means I need in the target file this:

a
b
c
d

Even if Im not python programmer, also not in any other languages, I will do my best to try to learn so Im able to do this.

If someone could suggest me anything, I would really appreciate it.

Thank you, best wishes.

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Okay, so here is how i hear it in my head.
Files 1-5:
hd1
hd2
hd3
hd4
hd5