I'm normally a VB.Net/C# guy but because of a third party dll that isn't working in .Net, I'm having to interact with it using C++. I'm able to read and understand (for the most part) C and C++, but I've never actually written any code in it.

The third party dll contains 10 functions that I have to interact with but I cannot figure out how to access them. In VB/VBA I would use "Declare Function/Sub name Lib "library"" but I don't know how to do that in C++.
I've come across the HINSTANCE, LoadLibrary, GetProcAddress("ProcName") but i don't know how to actually call the procedure.

Could someone provide the code that would allow me to do that?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

I'm really new to C++ as well, so I don't know how to establish the actual link to a library yet. What I do know is that what you are looking for is a header file designed for your library. In C++, "header" files (*.h files) contain various function declarations, type definitions, class definitions, etc. and are frequently used to help you link to and use libraries.

In general, to use a header you use an "include" statement such as #include <headerName> or #include "headerName.h" .

I can't give you exactly the statement you'll need because I don't know anything about your library. If you provide the name of the library, another member may be able to give you more specific suggestions.

Once you have your header(s) in place. It's simply a matter of entering the function's name and argument(s) where you need them.

Sorry about double-posting, very l8 after thought...

I would look into your language of choice's help file. There may be a keyword that you can use in your declare statement(s) to specify a different calling convention that is compatible with the library.