I just started a C++ class at a local tech school. It is a self taught course, and I have just learned how much "self taught" applies to this course. The instructors have no experience in programming and can not answer the simplist of questions!!

The book I was asked to purchase is "Teach Yourself C++ in 21 Days", fifth edition.

The first couple of programs the book teaches are the basic "Hello World!" stuff. I was then asked to create the following program:

#include <iostream>
int main()
{
      int x = 5;
      int y = 7;
      std::cout << end1;
      std::cout << x + y << " " << x * y;
      std::cout << end;
      return 0;
}

While compiling, I received an error on line 6 (end1 : undeclared identifier)
and the same thing on line 8 (end : undeclared identifier).

I deleted both lines and the program worked. The problem is, the next program I am asked to create uses "std::end1" several times and I am getting the error "undeclared identifier" or "end1 is not a member of std".

Is there another way to list std::end1 in the source code that my compiler might recognize? I am using Visual Studios 2008.

Thanks,

Scott

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

First of all, it's not end1 (with number 1) but endl (with a letter ell), short for endline.
Second, I really doubt that "Teach Yourself C++ in 21 Days" will do you any good.

commented: Exactly. +6

Try using std::endl instead :)

endl stands for end line, and is used for switching rows in console based C++ applications.

First of all, it's not end1 (with number 1) but endl (with a letter ell), short for endline.
Second, I really doubt that "Teach Yourself C++ in 21 Days" will do you any good.

Thanks for your reply. That corrected my problem!!!

The book may not do me any good, especially as hard headed as I am. It takes a little more effort for something to sink through my thick skull. But I did make it to Day 2 of the book, after using 3 different editors and compilers.

Thanks again!!