I am a beginner in visual basic programming.I need guidance for the approach needed to make a program.Its part of my study.

I have a song book(in paper) containing hymns in various languages.I want to make a program that displays the hymns when given a search query like the beginning letter of the hymn.Finally I need to project a selected hymn onto a screen.

Please advise on this regard.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Well first off lets make sure you are using Visual Basic 6.0 AKA Classic VB and not any of the .NET versions, which are 2002, 2003, 2005, 2008, and coming soon 2010.

Now, if you actually have the Classic Version of Visual Basic, the next question is what is your targeted OS's. XP, Vista, 7?

Next question is,... The hymn book, does it contain sheet music also or just the words and if it does contain the sheet music, do you want to display that?

Okay, if it does contain sheet music and you want to display it, then you will need a scanner to scan the pages in, and to do this with VB on XP and new systems you will need to goto Microsofts web site and search for WIA SDK (Windows Image Acquisition Software Development Kit). This will allow you to interface with the scanner and save the images as tiff or jpeg.

Lets see,... You will also need an ADO tutorial, which if you search the web with your friends (yahoo, google, ask, answers, bing) you will fine more than one.

Now, if you don't have classic visual basic 6.0 and you are learning one of the .NET versions then I would suggest you goto the .NET forum and ask your question or PM a mod to have this thread moved.

Good Luck

Thank you for the response.
I use visual basic 6.Target OS's are XP,Vista and 7.It doesn't contain sheet music.It just contain words in various languages including english.

Well first off lets make sure you are using Visual Basic 6.0 AKA Classic VB and not any of the .NET versions, which are 2002, 2003, 2005, 2008, and coming soon 2010.