Hello everyone,

I'm new to C ++, and I want to know how to delete a whole folder.
I've tried to do this, but it doesn't work. Can anyone help me?

#include <iostream>
#include <stdio.h>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	remove ("c:\\users\\asus\\new");
	return 0;
}

I'm running Vista, and using Microsoft Visual Studio 2008 Express Edition.

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

Thanks, but there they say that you can only specify an empty folder. I was looking for a folder with files in it.
Sorry, I forgot to tell you.

Ok. But can I use '*', when deleting files?

#include <iostream>
#include <stdio.h>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	remove ("c:\\users\\asus\\new\\*.*");
	return 0;
}

yes u can use all wild character with those functions :)

WIN32_FIND_DATA FindFileData;
HANDLE hFind = INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE;
DWORD dwError;

wstring FilePath = L"c:\\users\\asus\\new\\*.*";
wstring FileName;

hFind = FindFirstFile( FilePath.c_str(), &FindFileData);

FileName = FindFileData.cFileName;

printf ("First file name is %s\n", FindFileData.cFileName);
while (FindNextFile(hFind, &FindFileData) != 0) 
{
	FileName = FindFileData.cFileName;
	printf ("Next file name is %s\n", FindFileData.cFileName);
}

dwError = GetLastError();
FindClose(hFind);
if (dwError != ERROR_NO_MORE_FILES) 
{
	printf ("FindNextFile error. Error is %u\n", dwError);
	return (-1);
}

May this help you.

Wow! That's nice. Because I'm not such a good C++ writer, is there a function included which deletes the files? Because this is such a good source code, but could you also show one which only deletes all the files in a folder, and then deletes the folder itself?
Thanks for all you work! :icon_smile:

Standard C function remove() will delete a file. If the folder contains other folders than its a little more complicated because the code will have to be recursive (function calling itself) to process all the sub-folders.

Well, it doesn't contain any. :)