Hi everyone.
This is my first post in the python thread and I am very new to the language. A while ago, i wrote a program that find the least common denominator for an array of numbers in Java. I recently started to look at the python language and I have attempted to write the same program in python. I wrote it and it works up to just one part. I have a 'while' loop with an inner 'for' loop. inside the for loop it has an 'if' statement that has a result of a 'break'. From what I have read in the Python Pocket Reference by O'Reilly, and from what I know about Java, the break statement should just break out of the 'for' loop and not the outer 'while' loop, but it seems like it is breaking out of both of them... How can I get it to just get out of the 'for' loop without getting out of the outer 'while' loop? Thanks for any help in advance.

Oh, by the way... Sorry for not showing any code examples of my problem, but I have it saved on a usb flash card and I seem to have misplaced it at the moment.

-Nick

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I found the card and here is an example of what I am talking about:

def getLCD(ls):
    Max = getMax(ls)
    lcd = Max
    length = len(ls)
    temp = 0

while temp<length:

for x in ls:
            if isDivisible(Max,x) is 1:
                temp=temp + 1
            else:
                temp=0
                Max+=lcd
                break # this break should only break out of the for loop

return Max

I think you have other problems. There are two (Java?) functions you used that are not part of Python.

getMax(ls)

If variable ls is a list then max(ls) will give you the maxium element of the list.

isDivisible(Max,x)

I need a more detailed explanation of its purpose. What does it do and what does it return? Most likely Python has something to match.

Break should break out of the loop it is called in, whether it's a for or a while loop.