I am working on a small program that uses classes to generate a weekly menu of daily food logs. I am still new to python and would like some help with what I view to be the next step. I want to be able to load the program and have it check if the weekly menu class for the week already exists or create a new one if there is not a created class. Right now the program generates an empty week's worth of list when the foodManagement class is created. How do I import and export a created class so I can load it from file? Also how to i get the program to check if this file exist or create a new weekly menu? Any help in my next process or with the code would really help me. Thanks.

# Food Inventory
# A program that creates a weekly menu to help manage food inventory and meals
# 2010.02.04

import datetime
from datetime import date, timedelta

convertUnits = {"Teaspoon" : .1667, "Tablespoon" : .5, "Ounces" : 1, "Cup" : 8, "Pound" : 16, "Gallon" : 128}
mealTypes = ["Breakfast", "Lunch", "Dinner", "Snack", "Workout"]

class foodManagement(object):
    def __init__(self):
        self.todaysDate = datetime.date.today()
        self.weekDate = self.getWeekStartDate()
        self.weekMenu = weeklyMenu(self.weekDate)

def getWeekStartDate(self):
        today = self.todaysDate
        year = int(today.strftime("%Y"))
        week = int(today.strftime("%W"))
        d = date(year, 1, 1)    
        delta_days = d.isoweekday() - 1
        delta_weeks = week
        if year == d.isocalendar()[0]:
            delta_weeks -= 1
        delta = timedelta(days=-delta_days, weeks=delta_weeks)
        return d + delta

# Class Structures

class weeklyMenu(object):
    def __init__(self, startDate):
        self.startDate = startDate
        self.menuDayLog = []
        self.getWeeklyMenu(self.startDate)

def getWeeklyMenu(self, startDate):
        weekStart = datetime.date(startDate.year, startDate.month, startDate.day)
        for number in range(7):