I'm taking my first class in c++ this semester, so i'm a newb. The only other programming experience i have is in python. My teacher gave me this assignment and i don't even know where to start. I don't want anyone to post any code, but a few tips on what implementation files i need to create and what they should contain would be great.

Here's the assignment:

Your header file has been given to you, so you only need to create the implementation and main files. However, you may have to make some changes to the supplied file. Your program should work like the following:

Please make a selection:
1) Display Current Account Balance
2) Deposit Money
3) Withdraw Money
4) Exit

< user enters 1 >
You have $2000.00 in your account.

Please make a selection:
2) Deposit Money
3) Withdraw Money
4) Exit

< user enters 2 >
How much would you like to deposit? < user enters 300.57 >

You have deposited $300.57, and you now have $2300.57 in your account.

Please make a selection:
2) Deposit Money
3) Withdraw Money
4) Exit

< user enters 3 >
How much would you like to withdraw? < user enters 4500 >

Sorry, you don’t have that much in your account.

Please make a selection:
2) Deposit Money
3) Withdraw Money
4) Exit

< user enters 3 >
How much would you like to withdraw? < user enters 450 >
You have withdrawn $450.00, and you now have $1850.57 in your account.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

So you say you know python. Why not make it in Python first and then translate it to C++. This assignment only requires the most basic function of C++ and the structure of the program in C++ wouldn't differ very much from the structure in C++.

To answer your primary question, you'll need 3 files:
1.) The provided header file (a *.h file)
2.) The class implementation file (a *.cpp) file.
3.) The main application file (another *.cpp) file.