Hi folks

Can anyone explain to me why this is not working please?

I am trying to delete the first 52 lines of a text file, then skip deleting the next line, then deleting the next 100 lines, then skipping the next line and repeating the process until the file ends (requires about 100 loops), i.e. delete lines 0-51, 53-153, 155-255, 257-357 and so on about 100 hundred times.

All the lines that remain, which are what I need, are then written to a new file.

When I run this only the first 52 lines are deleted, and then nothing more happens... the script just stops. Is it because readlines is unable to hold all the data? There are about 10,000 lines in the text file!! I am VERY new to python and don't have any clue how else to do this really..

#!/usr/bin/env python

# read the data file in as a list
fin = open("/Users/stuartmuller/Sort/PhD/Analytical testing/Benchmark10/10a1_1/BM10a1_1/LCONR1_OUT.DAT", "r" )
lines_list = fin.readlines()
fin.close()

begin = 0
end = 51
count = 0
while (count < 101):
    del lines_list[begin:end]
    begin = end + 2
    end = end + 100
    count=count+1

# Write the updated list of lines to a new file
fout = open("/Users/stuartmuller/Sort/PhD/Analytical testing/Benchmark10/10a1_1/BM10a1_1/LCONR1_BTC.DAT", "w")
fout.writelines(lines_list)
fout.close()

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

would you try to work with few lines let say 15 lines and after it works go to that large file

You can use a code structure like this:

next_number = 52
for i, line in enumerate(fin):
    if i == next_number:
        fout.write(line)
        next_number += 102

I tried it with fewer lines and get the same effect - the first delete works but nothing thereafter.

I should add that each line contains 101 elements! So the total file has about 10,000 lines with each line containing 101 values (not that the values within each line need to be stored separately - I need to delete and keep entire lines)

You can use a code structure like this: