hi everyone,
i'm new in c#, so i have some questions:
i have this piece of code:

Graphics gfx = this.CreateGraphics();
Pen myPen = new Pen(Color.Azure, 1.0f);
Rectangle myRec = new Rectangle(10, 10, 30, 30);
gfx.DrawRectangle(myPen, myRec);

and i want the rectangle myRec appear on the form1 when i press Ctrl+F5. Where should i put it?? On the Form1.cs or on the Form1.Designer.cs?? What is the difference? And i don't understand the methods:

protected override void OnPaint(PaintEventArgs e) {}
private void Form1_Load(object sender, EventArgs e){}
private void Form1_Paint(object sender, EventArgs e){}

Are they events or what? Why when i put that piece of code in Form1_Load or Form1_Paint nothing happens? In which cases i should use each of them? What is the purpose of each of them?
I will be very glad if somebody gives me clear explanation! Sorry if questions are too stupid...

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

Put your code in the Form1_Paint method.
Leave out the CreateGraphics, the EventArgs argument is kind enough to provide you one : e.Graphics
The OnPaint method calls the Paint event of the form so I would leave that for now.
You should have a KeyDown event handler where you could capture your key sequence. Then force a redraw of the form(calls your form Paint handler) by calling form.Refresh();

if you only want to draw the rectangle when the user presses a certain key i would use a boolean flag:

private bool keyPressed = false;

private void Form_Paint(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
    if(keyPressed)
    {
          Graphics gfx = e.Gaphics;
          Pen myPen = new Pen(Color.Azure, 1.0f);
          Rectangle myRec = new Rectangle(10, 10, 30, 30);
    }
}

private void Form_KeyPress(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
        if(true) //change this to check for required key combo
            keyPressed = true;
        else
            keyPressed = false;
}