Hi, I am new to Python. I have written a routine and am trying to compile the code for distribution.
I went to http://sourceforge.net/projects/py2exe/files/ and downloaded the file
py2exe-0.6.9.win32-py2.6.exe. I am running Python 2.6 on a Win-XP Pro OS.
I assume this file is a self-extracting exe. The trouble is when I attempt to open the extractor file, I get the following message
"This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect".
One thing I noticed is the download site list the app as being 201.2kb and the actual size I see on my drive is 197kb.
Any help will be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Well i would start by re-downloading the file. Something may have gone wrong that caused the download to stop halfway through.

So try that, if you haven't already :)

Paul, thank you but yes I have tried that. Am I correct in thinking this file is an installer?

Interestingly, I just installed PyScriptor. Install went ok but program issued same incorrect config message when I tried to launch it. What the heck is going on I wonder?

Did you use the Windows installer
python-2.6.4.msi
to install your version of Python?

I sent a quick reply before but don't see it listed. I went back to where I installed from and I verified I chose v2.6.4 for windows when I originally downloaded python

is IE your browser? Old IE version used to corrup/almost download file. Use Download manager like the decent FDM

I thought about this last night and thought maybe I had a downleveled windows installer so I performed windows updates this morning.
I went to the original file downloaded py2exe-0.6.9.win32-py2.6.exe
and tried again, same result.
I did notice that I had another file named python-2.6.4.msi which V had asked about yesterday.

Ok, not sure how to proceed. Do I need to kick off python-2.6.4.msi?

BTW I am using firefox.

Any help appreciated and appreciate the effort so far