Hey guys, I'm new to programming and C, and I'm trying to write a program for a weighted dice, but I'm awful at math, and I can't figure out how to get it; it took my stupid self long enough to turn rand() into a number between 1 and 6. >.<
Can someone give me a nudge in the right direction?

I've got my

d = rand() % 6 + 1;

statement and I'm trying to weight the dice with an array of doubles that represent the probability of getting the number that corresponds to that array number.

For example:

double p[6] = { 1./6, 1./6, 1./6, 1./6, 1./6, 1./6 };

Would be a fair dice roll.

double p[6] = { 0.0, 0.75, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.25};

would be weighted with a 75% chance of getting a 2, and a 25% chance of getting a 6.

I feel really stupid that I can't figure this out. :(
Thanks so much!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I might think of it this way: For your second example you have 3/4 chance it will roll 2 and 1/4 chance of rolling a 6.
For this specific case, get a random number between 0 and 4(exclusive of 4). If you pick 0,1, or2, you've rolled 2 and if you pick 3 you've rolled 6 (or intersperse the value you want to pick to roll 6 among the lower values to make it potentially more "random"(a loaded word for your loaded dice)).
Have the user enter in the probabilities for the different numbers in ratios or else it will make more trouble for you.

if you want to randomize based on weighted percentages, then you need to roll a percentage, not a value from 1-6.

think of something like "rand() % 100 + 1" , which gives a number from 1 to 100.

or for more resolution, float pctRoll = (float) (rand() % 1000) / 1000.0 this gives a value between 0.000 and 0.999 with 1000 roughly equal increments.

i got interested in this problem, and i wrote a program to perform various combinations of variouis numbers of weighted and fair dice, and print results as a normalized graph