I'm a beginner in the code world, taking my first programming class this semester. I got bored over spring break and wrote a program to send to some friends just for the fun of it, but I'm having a problem. I want to isolate any character entered that is not an integer and get it to print a silly error message. I used a scanf check of sorts to do it, but unfortunately it instantly loops if the statement fails. (I only wanted it to loop once). Code follows (sorry if it's a little choppy, I copied and pasted):

//Zephraph, 2010
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int Ndice (void);
int prog (void);
void Side1 (void); //Again, chopped these off
void Side2 (void); //so the code wouldn't be
void Side3 (void); //as long.
void Side4 (void);
void Side5 (void);
void Side6 (void);

int main (void)
{
   char ans;
   printf ("Welcome to the dice simulator!\n\n");

prog ();

printf ("Would you like to re-run the program? (y/n)\n");
   scanf  ("%c", &ans);

if (ans == 'y'){
      printf("\n\n");
      main();
   }
   else
     exit(1);

return 0;
}

int prog (void)
{

int dice; //number of dice to be rolled
   int times;
   int side;

dice = Ndice ( );

printf ("\nYou've entered: %d\n\n", dice);

if (dice < 0){
      printf ("\nVery funny, wise guy. I'd like to see you roll a negative number of dice.\n"
              "While you're at it, how about dividing by zero? I'll wait. Meanwhile, try again. \n\n");
      prog ();
      }

else if (dice == 0){
      printf ("\nYou DO know this is a dice simulator, right? Oh wait, yeah, I told you.\n"
              "Well, if you enjoy feeling like an imbecile, feel free to enter zero again,\n"
              "otherwise enter something greater than zero, yeah? Try again.\n\n");
      prog ();
      }

else if (dice > 0 && dice <= 10)
      for ( times = 1;times <= dice; times++)
      {

side = 1 + rand() % 6;

if (side == 1)
            Side1();
         else if (side == 2)
            Side2();
         else if (side == 3)