I'm attempting to write an application that searches for and displays optionally sized strings made up of optional characters (both determined by the user) from a file (of any type).
The goal is to have said strings displayed in a listBox control.
I'm fairly new to C#, so through this endeavor I've familiarized myself with the different methods of reading data from a file to be worked with programmatically.
The wall I've run myself into (regardless of method of reading respective file) is how to go about ignoring everything *not* specifically requested.
For example, the user (via my settings module, which I've yet to create - though its very likely that I'll be doing just that since arriving at this personal impasse) requests that only strings containing the characters a-Z are listed, and only if those characters are found in sequences ranging between 5 and 10 characters in length.
I'm confident that I know the logic to accomplish this, however, thus far, I can only invoke that logic using English, not C#. Ultimately, that is what I need help with. Converting the concept into C# code that I can implement between the reading of said file, and writing to a listBox.
I apologize in advance for the long-winded sermon. Any help on the matter (in any capacity) would be greatly appreciated. Even advice on the best method to use for a file reading process that yield the greatest efficiency in this case.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

There are many ways to manipulate strings in C#, but i think for what you are hoping to do Regular Expressions are probably best suited.
If you havent worked with them before they can be a bit daunting, but they are an incredibly powerful string parsing tool. Check out regular-expressions.info for a rough starting guide. Also check out Expresso which is a free regualr expression builder.