First let me say I am thankful I found these forums for assembly, and that I am a complete newbie.

I've been reading documentation, and even bought a book on learning assembly, however, there is still one question I have that baffles me. I would appreciate it if someone could shed a little light on this for me. Thanks.

I've read that for example x86 utitlizes a certain instruction set, but when it comes to Linux or Windows, they both use different syntax. This I don't understand. If assembly is assembly for a certain processor, how can two different operating systems utilize different syntax for the same instruction set or assembly code? Secondly, the book I have, and forgive me if this is wrong; states that the Assembler converts to .obj and .exe on Windows, and something else on Linux (although still a form of executible file). Well, what do you do if you don't have an Operating System to run the assembled executible? Just an empty computer with nothing on it? Say from perhaps a CD? I find it hard to believe that the computer would read a .exe file straight from disk. Could someone help straighten out this mass confusion I'm in. Thanks a lot.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

First let me say I am thankful I found these forums for assembly, and that I am a complete newbie.

I've been reading documentation, and even bought a book on learning assembly, however, there is still one question I have that baffles me. I would appreciate it if someone could shed a little light on this for me. Thanks.