hey all,
im a dutch student and for a project I am responsible for the pc application. we are making a paint application, the picture that are drawed are saved in a bitmap so I can use the getpixel() function to get the collors form the image. the size of the pencil is 3 times as big as i should be, so i read out 1 out of 3 pixels, so the size of my image will be good for our lcd screen.
now I got a problem, in the loop were I use the getpixel() I keep getting the error: "Only assignment, call, increment, decrement, and new object expressions can be used as a statement"

Color kleur;
        int x = 0;
        int y = 0;
        for (x <= 384; y < 155; )
        {
            kleur = b.GetPixel(x, y) ;
            y = y + 3;
            if (y > 155)
            {
                y = 0;
                x = x + 3;
            }

(I get the error over : x <= 384; )

Can anyone help me....?

kind regards,
Niels de Zaaijer

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

A better way (though not the only way) to write it would be with a nested for loop:

for (int x = 0;x<=384;x++)
{
    for (int y = 0;y<155;y++)
    {
//this way you wouldn't need the int x=0 and int y=0 at the top

because even if you were to use the two conditions in one loop you'd have to && them or || them together.

yeah, but thats not what i need, because now x and y will be set to 0 again every time they finsh the loop. and are you sure that the declaration of x and y at the top are the reason that i get this error?

Well, the reason you get the error is that what you have is not the proper syntax for a "for" loop. I was just suggesting declaring them in the body of the for loop but you are correct they won't persist if you do that.