Hello everyone:

I am a C++ newbie. I have used Matlab to fill the rows or columns of a matrix with values from a vector and I'm wondering how to do the same thing in C++...

I have written code that puts new values in a vector. This happens in a "for" loop. Each iteration of the loop represents a new time. So for each time/loop, I have a new set of values in the vector that I need to store.

I would like to take the vector and store it as a column of a matrix outside the loop. Can anyone suggest how to do this? The reason I want to do this is that I want to plot the values from each vector over time. I think I could "return" the vector at the end of each loop and maybe save it, but I don't know how to make a matrix that grows during looping (has new columns added).

I would be grateful for any help or advice.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I do not know how to add new columns to a matrix either.

This may not be the exact answer you are looking for, but I think it is similar to what you want to do:

//if you had a vector called nums, and a 2d array called ary, you could do this:
//put nums from vector (or you could use an array) into 2d array
  for(int r = 0; r<ROWS; r++){
        for(int c = 0; c<COLS; c++){
                ary[r][0]= nums[r]; //for every row, the 1st column will be populated from the vector...no change to the other columns
        }
 }

option 1:
Each time you want to add a new column to the left hand side of the matrix declare a new, bigger matrix using dynamic memory, then load the data from the vector in the first column using a loop, followed by another loop transfer the data from old matrix (you could combine both loops together if you wish, too).

option 2:
Declare a really big matrix and add information at the first available column. Always read the matrix "backward", so the last entry acts like the first.

option 3: