Hello All,

I posted this over in the Software Forum, but I realized that maybe it belongs over here.

I have both VS 6.0 and VS .Net 2003 available to me. I am just starting to learn programming
and wanted to know the difference and which one would be the best to start with. My company has a site liscence for both and I could install both on my PC but I didn't know if it would make a difference.

I am starting out with the Book C++ Demystified by Jeff Kent. He is using VS .Net 2003 in his examples.

Your input would be apprecitiated.

Thanks,

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I don't know anything about VS.NET, but I do know that MSVC6 was not very standards compliant and it had bugs -- so I wouldn't recommend MSVC6.

visual studio .net 2003 shud be gr8... i ve been programming on that..
but if u re just learning to program then advice u better start off with turbo c or borland c..or c++..
it ll be much better..

but if u re just learning to program then advice u better start off with turbo c or borland c..or c++..

I think it would be a great disservice to recommend outdated and obsolete coding for a beginner.

Why??
They really form the basis of all the rest of visual studio etc..
and are really simple to understand all the basics...
work a while on them and then switch to the new gen stuff.. i found it easier that way..

My learning started with turbo C++ 3.0. Infact, in my uni everyone starts from turbo C, C++. Only later they move to vc++ or dev C++. I think learning TC was just a waste of my time, since it's downright obsolete. You will be learning habits that u must unlearn later when u move onto standard compilers. TC is just for windows(actually MSDOS), and I can say this for certain that your code will be non-portable since you will have a nag for using conio.h for just about any program.

My advice is to stay away from turbo C/C++. However, I can safely recommend borland C++ 5.5 which is strictly standard-complaint.