Hi. I'm new to C++, and I'm having problems understanding a certain type of function argument. I wrote this code to try and understand it, and it didn't help much. :)

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

class TestClass {
      public:
             int a ( TestClass arg );
             int b ( TestClass & arg );
};
int TestClass :: a ( TestClass arg ) {
    cout << &arg << "\n";
}
int TestClass :: b ( TestClass & arg ) {
    cout << &arg;
}

int main () {
    TestClass example;

example.a ( example );
    example.b ( example );

return 0;
}

As I understand it, the reference operator (&) represents the memory location of the value of a variable. I'm also sure I read somewhere that you can't pass a class as a function argument.

So in main, I make an example TestClass, and pass it to the two method of that. One of them takes, as the argument, just the value as a type of that class, and the other puts the reference operator in it. Both then output the reference part.

In 'b', what am I actually defining as the argument? O_o And what's the difference between the two? The 'this' value matches 'b' but not 'a'. Why?

Thanks! :D

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

>>I'm also sure I read somewhere that you can't pass a class as a function argument.

You must have misread it. The class in a is a new instance of the class while the class in b is the same instance. In a the class is passes by value, meaning that the compiler duplicated it and gives it another this pointer.

>>I'm also sure I read somewhere that you can't pass a class as a function argument.

You must have misread it. The class in a is a new instance of the class while the class in b is the same instance. In a the class is passes by value, meaning that the compiler duplicated it and gives it another this pointer.