Hi,

I'm a bit new to java and I would like to make a program that save's and load the saved data that the user had inputted in my java program.

For example I done a sort of a Bank System and when I close my program and restart it all over again the data is lost... Please can you give me a model program?

Thanks
Tabone

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

What kind of data, you want to save and do you have any "homework" restrictions concerning how the data will be saved?

There is the easy way using the Serializable interface. The code is only a few lines, but you will not learn much.

And the hard way would be to write the values of the attributes of your classes to a text file. With this way you will learn how to write and read from files.

What kind of data, you want to save and do you have any "homework" restrictions concerning how the data will be saved?

There is the easy way using the Serializable interface. The code is only a few lines, but you will not learn much.

And the hard way would be to write the values of the attributes of your classes to a text file. With this way you will learn how to write and read from files.

Kind of data?? such as Strings, double etc..? if so I will only input Strings ,Double and whole numbers(integers).There are no restrictions.. Doing this only to gain more knowledge about the subject

As JavaAddict said, Serialized objects give you a good option if you're looking to store a few bits

It won't save nulls, but you can create an object to swap for nulls when you're reading/writing

Check out the java.io.ObjectOutputStream

a simple

File f = new File("c:\\myobj.obj");
  ObjectOutputStream out = new ObjectOutputStream(new FileOutputStream(f));
  out.writeInt(1);
  out.flush();
  out.close();

will write out to file 1 integer, you can read it in with ObjectInputStream.readInt