OK, I'm hitting the wall harder than a rookie Indy driver!

I'm very new to programming in general, C# in particular, and I'm trying to teach myself. I'm using C# Express, which Microsoft claims is aimed squarely at people like me (novice). However, I can't seem to find the exact information I need on how to manipulate data in an external database from within the program I'm writing. The documentation seems to assume that I am more familiar with the concepts and the terminology than I am.

As basic as this might be for those of you with more experience, I can't grasp, from the documentation, the relationship between a dataset and a data adapter, for example. I don't know what code to type that will make the program use the database it's connected to (I did get it to connect to the database), for example to create/edit/store records. As a training project, I'm just trying to write a simple contact management program with 5 fields that stores data in an Access database.

I'd appreciate some insight, or at least some direction on where I can get a good grounding in this concept :confused:

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Well let me see if I can help a little.

Couple of things to keep in mind.
1. Express is still in Beta (Beta2) and is building on the existing technology of .NET Framework 1.1.
2. It is for the novice programmer, not the novice pc user or those entirely new to programming.

saying that, the people here at Daniweb are a great resource and I am sure will try their best to answer your questions. But I have a few to ask first, just to see what level of knowledge / understand you have.

Q1. Have you don any programming in C, C++, Java or C# before?
Q2. Have you ever used ADO, DAO, or ADO.NET? Do you know what they stand for and what the technology provides?

This will greatly affect where we get begin to provide some information.

A very simple view of the two items in question