Ok, Let me start off and say Im new to C. Im writting a subnet calculator, in my main function I am asking the user for a subnet mask and storing it in a char variable. Im then passing the variable to another function called "truncat", where I strip the "." out of the address and store each section into an array.

My problem here, is that whenever I assign a section to part of the array and then print that part of the array I get a different number then what it should be.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main()
{
  char str[16];
  char ipray[4];

printf("Enter a Netmask :");
  scanf("%s", str);

truncat(str, ipray);

return 0;
}

void truncat(char str[], char ipray[])
{
  char *tok;
  int i = 0;

tok = strtok(str,".");

while (tok != NULL)
  {
    ipray[i] = *tok;
    printf("%d\n\n\n\n", ipray[i]);
    tok = strtok(NULL, ".");
    i++;
  }
}

Here is an example of what happens.

nkowalski@nkowalski-desktop:~/Desktop$ gcc -Wall sub.c -o test2
nkowalski@nkowalski-desktop:~/Desktop$ ./test2
Enter a Netmask :255.255.255.0

and no matter what numbers you enter for a subnet mask, it will always output 50,50,50,48

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Your problem is this line right here

ipray[i] = *tok;

Which doesn't do what you think it does.

Take a look at this version which is a simplified version of your code and is correct...Now all you have to do is convert the values to integers or copy them to the character array.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

void truncat(char str[], char ipray[]);

int main()
{
	char str[16];
	char ipray[4];

printf("Enter a Netmask :");
	scanf("%s", &str[0]);

truncat(str, ipray);

return 0;
}

void truncat(char str[], char ipray[])
{
	char *tok;
	int i = 0;

tok = strtok(str,".");

while (tok != NULL)
	{
		fprintf(stdout, "tok->%s\n", tok);
		tok = strtok(NULL, ".");
	}
}