Im new to dynamic arrays. What im trying to do
is get a line of number that are stored as charachters , but implement a dynamic array to store the charachters so the size of the number(i.e. number of digits) is unkown. After i convert the charachters to an integer, i want to add it to another line of charachters stored as dyanmic arrays.

What i need is an outline, or some helpful code so I can see
how dynamic arrays work.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

char* str;
vector<int> ints; // dynamic array of ints
while (cin >> str) ints.push_back(atoi(str)); // adding

>vector<int> ints; // dynamic array of ints
No, it's a vector of int. I very much doubt that's what the OP was thinking of when saying "dynamic array". :icon_rolleyes:

>char* str;
>while (cin >> str) ints.push_back(atoi(str)); // adding

Really? Shall we explore the fact that this is probably the most classic of classic errors and anyone claiming to teach C++ should recognize it on sight? Where does str point? I'll let the gets-like bug slide because most C++ers don't see the connection, but you should also recognize atoi as a bug and avoid it like the plague.

Hi.I was really wondering:).How do you convert a string into an int without using atoi()? If you don't mind telling me.I would appreciate it.And i'm really sorry about what i've said back then.If it mathers ..

nobody gonna bother to give a tip on dynamic arrays for this pjct?

>How do you convert a string into an int without using atoi()?
In C I would say use strtol:

#include <errno.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main(void)
{
    char buf[BUFSIZ];

printf("Enter a number: ");
    fflush(stdout);

if (fgets(buf, sizeof buf, stdin) != NULL)
    {
        char *end;
        int x;

errno = 0;
        x = (int)strtol(buf, &end, 0);

if (errno != 0 || (*end != '\n' && *end != '\0'))
        {
            perror("Invalid input");
        }
        else
        {
            printf("Value\tSquared\tCubed\n");