Hi everyone!
So can someone explain me how to compile a file with gcc?
I'm using kubuntu, and I've written my source code in Kate(the text editor), and I saved it in documents like file1, and now how to compile it from the terminal?
I've tried with the command:

gcc -o file1 file1.c

but it says:
gcc: file1.c: no such file or directory
gcc: no imput files.
What's the problem?
I'm very new in Linux.

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

didi00> I saved it in documents like file1
Save c source code as *.c (i.e. file1.c) then

gcc file1.c -o file1

Where file1 will be the output.

Nope, the same thing.
Maybe the problem is that before the ~$, there should be defined the path to the documents (like in windows), or it doesn't matter?
my line currently is

unknown@unknown:~$ gcc file1.c -o file1

Help?

Are you running gcc in the same directory where file1.c is?

Yes, now I've checked with pwd and I'm in the documents directory, but still the same thing. I don't know what else is the problem...
I also tried with g++ (with C++ code), only there it says:

The program 'g++' can be found in the following packages:
*g++
*pentium-builder
Try sudo-apt get install <selected package>

It wants to install g++? And when I try to install it it requests some kind of [sudo] password. What's the sudo password. I don't get it.

I get it. sudo is some kind of root password (which in my case I don't know it). I guess I'll re-install kubuntu and I'll see where to set my root password. I think that I didn't set any password when I installed kubuntu. Oh well...

I get it. sudo is some kind of root password (which in my case I don't know it). I guess I'll re-install kubuntu and I'll see where to set my root password. I think that I didn't set any password when I installed kubuntu. Oh well...