hi.. i'm still new to java and i have a project to work on regarding card games. I want to shuffle the deck but i just can't get it.Shuffling the deck must be alternate each element. I don't know if i'm doing the right thing.
I keep getting a " Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerException". Thanks!

Here's my code:

import java.io.*;
import java.util.*;

public class Deck{

Vector deck; // create a 52-card deck
		 final String[] suit = {"D", "H", "S", "C"};
		 final String[] rank = {"A","K", "Q", "J", "T", "9", "8", "7", "6", "5", "4", "3", "2"};

public Deck(){

// creating a list
		 List<String> list = new ArrayList<String>();
			for (int i = 0; i < suit.length; i++)
			{
	      for (int j = 0; j < rank.length; j++)
	        list.add(rank[j] + suit[i]);
			}
			// convert the array to vector
			Vector deck = new Vector(list);

// access elements
			System.out.println("Initial Deck:"); 
			Enumeration deck1 = deck.elements();	
       	 while (deck1.hasMoreElements())
		   {  
				System.out.println(deck1.nextElement().toString());			 
			}

}

public void shuffle()throws IOException{

BufferedReader br = new BufferedReader(new InputStreamReader (System.in));
		System.out.println ("Enter the desired number for shuffle: ");
		String temp = br.readLine();
		int count = Integer.parseInt(temp);

for (int b=0; b<=count; b++)
				{

for (int i=1;i<(deck.size())/2;i+=2)
					{    	    
				 	 for (int j=26;j<(deck.size())/2;j+=2)
					 {
				 		Collections.swap(deck, i, j);}
					 } 
				}	System.out.println("Shuffled Deck:\n" + deck);
	}

public static void main (String[] args) throws IOException{
				Deck cardeck = new Deck();
				cardeck.shuffle();	
}
}

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

An NPE provides a Line number in the exception messgae, what is it?

An NPE provides a Line number in the exception messgae, what is it?

I've already fixed my previous problem so now this is what i got. i think i must be wrong on the swapping part..