I'm almost finish with my project that was made in visual studio 2008 using C#, so i want to ask this ahead of time.

I want the project to be an executable file, this is my first time so how could I do it?

One more thing, my form has SQLConnection strings that has a data source which is specific to a computername\\SQLEXPRESS. What if I make the project to exe, then use it to other computer? I believe it will produce an error.

Recommended Answers

All 30 Replies

That is useful and by reading some tutorials I know now how to build an executable file.

Though a question is still left unanswered. My SQL connection string is specific to a computername, what if I used the form to a different computer.

will create problem whenever u set up the project for over come u have to create connection string dynamicaly or better option create your database in your application
by right clicking your solution explorer and choose add new item and then database

there one more idea deatache your database whish your application use from server and add it in your project and configure your connection string according to that that will solve your problem try it

then what is the use of the sql database I made if I would just create the database within my application?

dear will use sql server but path will remain same every time you set up the project

if ok marked as solved dear

and thanks for raputation

I really appreciate the help! I'll report back as soon as I get home.

The .mdf file is the extension of the deattached database?

To expand on this a bit your two options are:

• Create a flat-file database that is portable within the application
  • Create a database connection string that points to the server/db location where your db will be hosted (for multi-user/multi-machine programs you will want a centralized database to share information vs a localized db that is unique to each install)