Hi,
I have connected to a MS Access database but when I try to insert data through the java interface, it gives an error which is

[MICROSOFT][ODBC MICROSOFT ACCESS DRIVER] TOO FEW PARAMETERS.EXPECTED 2.

I dont know y its giving me this error. All the parameters r correct. Can any 1 help me. Im developing a container tracking system for a company. I have worked with Java and Oracle. This is my first time with Java and MS Access.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

I've seen that before when using MS-Access. If one of your field names is unknown, then MS-Access considers that field a parameter and generates this sort of error. It can also be another identifier, other than a field name, something that MS-Access cannot lookup.

Make your query as simple as you can, just select * from table and then add more in until you start getting the error. Or perhaps print out your query/insert and try it directly in MS-Access itself.

" dont know y its giving me this error. All the parameters r correct. Can any 1 help me. Im developing a container tracking system for a company. I have worked with Java and Oracle. This is my first time with Java and MS Access."

You saved yourself 7 characters by writing that nonsense "y, r, 1". Was that really worth it?
If you consider yourself a professional (which you seem to do), don't use such shorthand language.

And oh, for a production application NEVER use the JDBC-ODBC bridge driver from the JDK. It's for demonstration and testing only, too unstable and poorly performant for realworld use.

Respected Sir, Thank u 4 ur kind help and ur reply is highly appreciated. I kind of solved the problem my self yesterday. I did not close the single quote :o . Thanks anyways. Is there some other method for connecting Java to Access so that it can give meaning full and specific error messeges ?