I spent about an hour or so googling but no luck.
I want to program for hardware(which apparently people seem to think is obsolete for some reason) however i can find no tutorials on it period i suppose i could always use Assembly but my knowledge isn't that great. Is there anywhere i can learn( besides college or anything that requires $$$ since im always broke) hardware programming(firmware or manipulation or just even interaction) with the std library. I really don't want to use anything thats not in the standard library.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Well, as a robotics engineer, I can tell you that hardware programming is far from obsolete. It is in fact probably the most important and time-consuming task when dealing with robots and other similar stuff.

One thing that is important with hardware programming is what you are programming on. If it is a standard PC and your hardware is via USB, RS232, FireWire, etc. than you will have to resort to OS-specific libraries (but mainly standard parts of the operating system libraries) and this is really like regular programming but often these OS APIs are based on C, but very easily wrappable in a C++ environment (the so-called hardware interface layer of your program).