Hi all...
I tried the following code in my Turbo C++ ..

int j=5;
cout<<++j + ++j + j++;

and got the result 20, as expected.

But, when I replaced the code and assigned the same to another variable x, it gives result 21.
ie,

int j=5,x;
x= ++j + ++j + j++;
cout<<x;

gives 21 against the expected value, 20

More interestingly,
if I assign it to same variable j, by replacing x

int j=5;
j=++j + ++j + j++;
cout<<j;

It gives 22 as the output.

Can anyone help please? I am a Computer Science teacher and need urgent help...!

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

It's called undefined behavior. On your PC with your OS and your compiler, this could be the output. But there's no guarantee that it's the same on someone else's PC.

commented: Yes indeed. +5

Wow! that's something creepy... trying this, it helps me understand why this is how it is:

int main(){

{
        int j=5;
        std::cout << ((++j) + (++j)) + (j++) << std::endl;
        }
	{
        int j=5;
        std::cout << ((++j) + (++j)) << std::endl;
        }
        {
        int j=5;
        int x = ++j;
        x += ++j;
        x += j++;
        std::cout << x << std::endl;
        }
        {
        int j=5;
        j = ++j + ++j + j++;
        std::cout << j << std::endl;
        }

return 0;
}

The output is:
At least on my computer.

I think the problem here is that the operator ++j will take the value of j after the whole expression evaluation. This explains the second case in my example, j is pushed, then incremented twice, then the values of both ++j terms are set to the value then (which will be 7), and are finally added. If you apply the same logic to the first case, the initial value of j is 5, so that is the return value of expression j++, then after two ++j and one j++, the final value of j is 8, so 8 + 8 + 5 = 21.