Hi,

I've developed a console app and a win32 api GUI. The GUI is only used to get input file path and output file path specified by the user, as simple as that. I now want to pass those file path and call the functions in my console app to process the data but not quite sure what is the best way. I'm quite new to programming:D

Here are my thoughts:
1. convert console app to windows app and make the two projects into one, then make function calls in winmain?
or
2. create a dll project and somehow link the two projects?
or
3. probably the easiest way is to let the GUI store the input and output file path in a text file and then use createprocess() to call the console app which reads input output file path from the file?

I've done a lot of research on this but kinda got lost. I'd be really grateful if anyone would point me in the right direction. I believe there must be a common way of doing this kind of thing which I just don't know. The code is really long over a thousand lines but if anyone want to have a look I will put here.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Why would you want to keep the console application seperate? There aren't (m)any real world applications that spawn a new process to do some work and only use the GUI for configuration.

So just create one GUI project, and put the code from the console application in there... You will probably have to make some modifications but I would go that way.

If you decide to use CreateProcess anyway you don't need to store the configuration in a file, you can pass it as a command line parameter.
Just like you can create a process through cmd like:
>myProgram.exe argument1 argument2

Why would you want to keep the console application seperate? There aren't (m)any real world applications that spawn a new process to do some work and only use the GUI for configuration.