public void printLoop(){

int counter = 1;
        while(counter <=25){
            System.out.println(counter);
            counter++;
        }
         }
    }

Hi, the above code compiles but nothing runs when I click on the run button. I am new to Java, you guys might find this problem easy to solve. Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

when I click on the run button.

Where is the run button?
Are you having a problem with your IDE?
If so you should ask the question on a site for that IDE.

Try executing your program from a command prompt.Open a command prompt window, change to the folder with the While.class file and enter:
java While

It doesn't look like your main() method is doing anything. Is this an omission, or is this the actual code?
If this is the actual code, try putting a call to the printLoop method in the main method and see what happens.

(I assume from the presence of the main() method that this is intended to run as a standalone).

jon is right. You have to put the printLoop method into the main method. This means when interpreting the program (executing the main() method only) the printLoop() is called.
However, there are two ways to follow jon's instruction.
(1) you have to place a keyword static before the method printLoop(), so that the static method main may call the printLoop().
static void printLoop() {...}
static method can call static mathods only. Or
(2) the printLoop() remains as a member method. In this way you have to create an instance of the class "While" you have defiend. Then the instance will be used as a handle to call the printLoop().

public static void main(String args[]) {
While w= new While();
w.printLoop();
}

That's true, good you mentioned it. One of the most frustrating sources of confusion at the start of java programming, and it doesn't become clear why this rigamarole is necessary until you really look into what objects are and what classes are.