Good Day All,

I'm relatively new to programming. And I'm taking a C# course at the local University.
Is there a place I can go on DaniWeb to get help with coding questions?

Thanks,

R

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

Here :) But we like to see some effort put into solving the problem, not "give me a solution to this" type questions.

Good Day All,

I'm trying to validate that the value entered for the studentID is at 9 digits long. If the value is less than 9 digits, I need to pad the number with zeros before setting the studentID property. The following is what I've come up with so far:

namespace Student
{
    class Student
    {
        // Declare class student data fields, use array to hold the student standing
        private string studentStanding;
        private string firstName;
        private string lastName;
        int studentID;

// Create property for freshman student standing
        // use the studentStanding array index to get and
        // set the student standing for each student
        public string StudentStanding
        {
            get { return this.studentStanding; }
            set { this.studentStanding = VerifyStanding(value); }
        }

public string FirstName
        {
            get { return this.firstName; }
            set { this.firstName = value; }
        }

public string LastName
        {
            get { return this.lastName; }
            set { this.lastName = value; }
        }

// The studentID will only accepts nine digits
        public int StudentID
        {
            get { return this.studentID; }
            set { this.studentID = value; }
        }

// Method to verify standing of freshman,
        // sophomore, junior, or senior .If the input
        // is not a standing then an error message is
        // returned.  If any of the strings in the 
        // switch statements is equivalent to the parameter
        // value then the value is returned

private string VerifyStanding(string value)