Hi,

I'm still a beginner for C programming. In my assignment I've encountered this problem and I know is a linker problem but I'm not sure how to solve it. I'm trying to link 3 files which 2 .c files and 1 .h file. Below are the codes for my file:

/*File driver.c (main file)*/
#include <stdio.h>
#include "MDAnalysis.h"
#include "MDAnalysis.c"

int main()
{

printScreen();

return 0;

}
/*File MDAnalysis.c*/
#include <stdio.h>
#include "MDAnalysis.h"
#include <stdlib.h>

void printScreen(void)
{
printf("Help me");
}
/*File: MDAnalysis.h*/

#ifndef _MDAnalysis_h
#define _MDAnalysis_h

/*Function prototypes*/

void printScreen(void);

#endif

These 3 files are my codings. I hope someone can help me out. I'm stuck at his problem for long time. Thanks in advance. Appreciate your help.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I think you mean Ld returned 1 exit status.

Do you really mean you tried to link the 2 c files and the h file or do you mean you compiled the c files and tried to link the resulting objects?

The processor of building a program is

• Compile each individual source (.c) file producing an object file (.o or .obj)
  • Link all the object files produced in stage 1 with any require libraries

NOTE 1: you neither compile or link header (.h) files, they are included into source (.c) files and the code the contain is compiled in that manner.

NOTE 2: It is very poor practice to #include source files (.c) into other source files (.c) as you have done in your driver.c listing. However if you must/do do that then you should not separately compile the source (.c) that you included.

Normally the IDE handles the build process for you so it would help us to know what tools, compiler tool-chain and/or IDE you are using.

Why don't you take the printScreen function out of MDAnalysis.c and move it into driver.c after the main function. It could fix your problem perhaps.