I have been trying to replicate Matlab's patch() function
(reference url: http://www.mathworks.com/help/techdoc/ref/patch.html) with numpy and wxpython.

The ultimate goal is to replicate the functionality of following line in python:

patch(vertices(i,[1,5,9]),vertices(i,[2,6,10]),(ctotal/3))

It is a 2D patch function which draws triangular polygons.

I am familiar with using wxPython for simple GUI and rectangle and circles, but this is my first time trying to work with polygons and create 3D to 2D transformations from a raw file in python (without using OpenGL libraries)

Please let me know if you can show me an example of how to utilize the drawpolygon() in wxpython.

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I've found a nice explanation with an animated polygon here http://users.info.unicaen.fr/~karczma/TEACH/ProgSci/Wxgra.html. It's in french, but you should be able to translate it roughly with google translate :)

I figured it out myself afterward ('cause I can't go to sleep without solving it) but thanks for the site. I was confused about how to create wx.point object and the list but with some trial and error, I got it working.

I have another question, I realize that there are different forms of the wxpython code. One with classes, another kind without. Like

import wx 

"""The start of our wxPython GUI tutorial"""

app = wx.App(redirect=False)

window = wx.Frame(None, title = 'Sample GUI App')
btn = wx.Button(window) 

window.Show()
app.MainLoop()

I tried to do something like

import wx 

app = wx.App(redirect=False)

window = wx.Frame(None, title = 'Sample GUI App')
dc = wx.PaintDC(window) 
dc.SetPen(wx.Pen('red', 1))
rect = wx.Rect(50, 50, 100, 100) 
dc.DrawRoundedRectangleRect(rect, 8)

window.Show()
app.MainLoop()

But the code will crash Python. I don't really understand why. Do you have any idea about this?

Be a part of the DaniWeb community