I'm currently in a data structure class and i have little programing experience. The assignment is

A. In this part, you are supposed to design an integer random number generator that would produce random numbers between 10 and 99 (both inclusive). Design schemes to evaluate its performance as a random number generator. Comment on the output quality of your generator.

B. Consider the two dimensional array shown below. Write a program that would read in the array A and evaluate each of its magic square property using appropriate function calls

A=
11 24 7 20 3
4 12 25 8 16
17 5 13 21 9
10 18 1 14 22
23 6 19 2 15

Im currently working on part A but i was only able to generate the random numbers

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Without any code to show I can only give you some hints:

For part A, I don't know how well your generator should perform. I suggest you first look up rand(), then if you want to improve your program follow up by researching srand() and then maybe mersenne twister or multiply-with-carry.

For part B, evaluate it how? You have a 5x5 square. so each row, column and diagonal sum should be 5(5^2+1)/2 or 65. So I'm guessing you maybe want a function that sums up 5 numbers to check if they equal 65. Then pass each row, column and diagonal into your function?

If you need more help, post some code and some more specifics such as how to evaluate the square and how random the numbers should actually be.

Thank you very much. my program is currently as shown :

#include <iostream>
#include <ctime>
#include <cmath>
using namespace std;

main ()
{
        srand((unsigned)time(0));
        int i;
        int random [10000];
        for (i = 0; i <10000; i++)
                {
                        random [i] = (rand() % 89)+10;
                        cout<<random [i]<<endl;

}
}

I have to upgrade this program so that it counts and records the amount of times each number from 10 to 99 shows up...