Hello,
I am new to C++ and I am trying to create a program but I am not sure where to start exactly.

Program purpose : Person/Player is asked to enter a number between 1 and 100. The computer randomly guesses a number and the player says whether its (h)igher or (l)ower or (c)orrect.
The computer has 6 tries to guess the number or the player wins. If the computer guesses the number in 6 tries then the player loses.

I am not really sure how to go about doing this.

I know I have to declare a value for MIN and MAX as well as creates a variable for the number of tries and the player number.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

If I was writing this this I would strive for simplicity. Have the user enter a value and then have the computer guess 50, the program should respond by indicating higher or lower(or correct). The computer then should take the set above or below and pick a middle value...etc...etc.

Example:

user enter value 35.

Computer guesses 50.(guess 1)

Program responds too high.

Computer guesses 25.(guess 2)

Program responds too low.

Computer guesses 37(guess 3).

Program responds Too high.

Computer guesses 31(guess 4).

Computer responds too low.

Program responds 34(guess 5)...etc

Thanks,
Here is what the worksheet says that i got today.

The objective of this assignment is to develop and implement a simple guessing game.

The rules of the game are as follows:

* The user will be asked to pick a number in the range 1 through 100 (inclusive), and the computer gets six tries to guess which number the user picked.
* After each guess the user must indicate if the number they have chosen is lower than, higher than, or equal to the computer's latest guess.
* The player wins the game if the computer fails to guess the correct number in six tries, the computer wins otherwise.

The player should be able to play multiple games in a row, with the computer keeping track of how many games resulted in player wins and losses.