Hi everyone, I just started on learning java and I have this problem I'm trying to figure out.
The question is asking me to have my program read the twelve temperature values and print the month with the highest temperature.

This is what I have so far:

public static void main(string[] args)
{
    double highestValue;
    highestValue = in.nextDouble();
    int highestMonth=1;
    for (int currentMonth = 2; currentMonth <= 12; currentMonth++)
    {
	double nextValue = in.nextDouble();
        if (nextValue > highestValue)
        {
	   highestValue = nextValue;
           highestMonth = currentMonth;
	}
}
System.out.println(highestMonth);

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Okay? And your question is? (Assuming "in" is a static import of System.in)

The code is from the book i'm reading. I'm very new to this and just confuse by it.
But the program i'm trying to make should read the twelve temperature values and print the highest one. I just don't know where and how should i implement that into the above code.

That code is reading twelve values and printing the (number of the) month corresponding to the highest value. What else do you want? Maybe you should see the comment about the static import. If you want the highest temp and not the month containing it, then simply print the other value.

what i'm confuse about is where would/should i input the 12 temp. values so the program can read those and pick and print the highest value. The program doesn't just randomly generate 12 values and pick the highest, right?

Each place where you see in.nextDouble();, that is where your program is trying to read input from the user. In general it is bad form to have an input statement without an output statement to prompt the user first. So just before lines 4 and 8 I would insert a line something like this:

System.out.print("Enter a temperature: ");