Hi. I'm new in python and I need some help.

I need to make a program that does this:

You put in a sentence, then the program puts it in a list. Words can be with one or more spaces; if there are more than one, the program should recognize them as only one. The only thing that is printes is the list.

example:

Type something: Today is sunny and warm

Right now I'm stuck here:

list = raw_input("Type something: ")
for string in list:
    if string != " ":
        print string

This thing is useless, it only gets all the spaces out and prints everything else (which it shouldn't be printed but I don't know how to do it another way).

Any help would be much appreciated.

PS
sorry for my English

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

My suggestion is:

li = raw_input("Type something: ").split()
print li

Do not use "list" as a variable name. List is a builtin type.
The split method of the string does exactly what you except. See documentation for that.

Totaly forgot to write that I mustn't use split.

Here is solution without using split and lists only strings and itertools generators (as this is clearly homework you should show some effort of solving yourself). I bet this is not what your instructor is expecting for solution!

from __future__ import print_function
from itertools import groupby
try:
    input = raw_input
except:
    pass

def isspace(x):
    return x==' '

sometext = input("Type something: ")
print('['+
      ', '.join(repr(''.join(word))
                     for spaces, word in groupby(sometext, isspace)
                     if not spaces)+
      ']')

Thank you for the answer. I figured a different way to do it, with help of your solution.

I'm writing a new program that counts all the capitalized words in a list.

This is how I put all capitalized word in a list

names = []
for x in msg.split():
    if (x[0].isupper()):
        names.append(x)

I want to know how do I count the words and print them this way:

Name1 3
Name2 2
Name3 5