I am relatively new to delphi.

what i am try to do it to open a new form from the main one as a pop-up window, let the user input certain values in there (two integers and a check box), and use these values as parameters in a procedure to call in the main form (to create a new object), when the user clicks the 'done' button in the pop-up form, also closing & freeing the popup.

i cannot add the main form in the uses list of the pop-up form, as this creates a circular reference, because the pop-up form is in the 'uses' list in the main form in order to make it appear on the click of a button. but now i cannot call the procedure in the main form (to create the new object with the inputted parameters) from the pop-up form.
what do i do?
much appreciated

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Add the reference to the mainform to the uses clause of the implementation section.

Very simple. In the main form, you give a link to the second module. In the main module creates an event handler by pressing a button and write code like this (in the second module does not need links to the main module):

unit MainForm;

uses
  SecondForm;

TMainForm.Button1Clicck(Sender: TObject);
begin
   with TSecondForm.Create(Self) do
   try
     if ShowModal = mrOK then
        MyProcedure(ParamA,ParamB);
   finally
     Free;
   end;
end;

ParamA следует понимать как SecondForm.ParamA

Very simple. In the main form, you give a link to the second module. In the main module creates an event handler by pressing a button and write code like this (in the second module does not need links to the main module):

unit MainForm;

uses
  SecondForm;

TMainForm.Button1Clicck(Sender: TObject);
begin
   with TSecondForm.Create(Self) do
   try
     if ShowModal = mrOK then
        MyProcedure(ParamA,ParamB);
   finally
     Free;
   end;
end;

thanks, this seems to work in calling the dialog, but now i get an error saying that a panel in the dialog 'already exists'. here is my code: