Hello. So, I'm a newbie, and this is my second hard assignment. In this assignment, I have to decrypt the message from the teacher (well, not only this, it should open and decrypt any text file). So, the example line would be:
Ftq Pqoxmdmfuaz ar Uzpqbqzpqzoq ar ftq Ftudfqqz Oaxazuqe
Uz OAZSDQEE, Vgxk 4, 1776

But what I'm most concerned about, is that
Rad uybaeuzs Fmjqe az ge iuftagf agd Oazeqzf: should mean something I don't know what, since in the cipher, "Return to Rome" would be encrypted as, "Uhwxuq wr Urph". 3 letters ahead. So, Rad should mean what, O(w?)a. I mean, WHAT??? So, I reviewed some examples here, none of which work the right way. Please help me. It's due this Sunday, 10 o'clock.

Recommended Answers

All 39 Replies

Before attempting to decrypt that you need to know the shift value, and whether it was shifted right or left. I suppose you could solve it by iterating through all 26 possible shift values ('A' - 'Z' = 1-26) assuming case is ignored.If not then there would be at least 127 possible values, which includes every key that can be typed on the American keyboard (except special keys). First try a shift of 1 Right, look at the results to see if it makes sense. If not, then use 2R and repeat the process.

It's 3 letters forward shift, I said. And it should be only letters. No numbers should be shifted. This code should be helpful, since it read every each character at a time. But how do I move it 3 shifts back to read original message?

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main ()
{
    // Declarations
    string reply;
    string inputFileName;
    ifstream inputFile;
    char character;

cout << "Input file name: ";
    getline(cin, inputFileName);

// Open the input file.
    inputFile.open(inputFileName.c_str());      // Need .c_str() to convert a C++ string to a C-style string
    // Check the file opened successfully.
    if ( ! inputFile.is_open()) {