Dear all,
I am new to this and I need ur help.
I have the following problem description

Write a C++ program that defines 3 arrays of integers a, b, c and 3 integers counts cnt_a, cnt_b , cnt_c. The program must then ask the user for the number of elements cnt_a, to insert in array a and then read in the corresponding element values is such a way that no value inserted more than once. Explain what changes are required to perform the same for array b.

I have made the following code. It works fine but I am not checking if the value inserted is the same.Also I havent initialized the other variables. Any help is much apreciated.

// pointers.cpp : Defines the entry point for the console application.
//

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
    int cnt_a=0; /* cnt_b, cnt_c;*/
    int *a;/**b,*c;*/
    bool valid=false;
    int i=0;

cout <<"Please enter an integer number of elements for the array" << endl;
    cin >> cnt_a;
    a=new int[cnt_a];

if (cnt_a>1) {
     valid=true; //set valid to false if value is less than 1
    }//end if statement

while (valid){
    for (i; i<cnt_a; i++){
    cout <<"Now enter the " <<i+1<< " element of the array"<<endl;
    cin >> a[i];
    //Statements to check if the values of the elements are the same. If are the same prompt the user to enter again a number

}//end for loop
    valid=false;
    }//end while loop

return 0;
}

Thanks in advance!!!

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Please use code tags [code] //code here [/code] next time. Hint, use an if statement to either increment your index (value doesn't match with other) or leave it the same (if it's a duplicate). You will probably need to shift your while loop around to reflect this (and base its condition on that index rather than a boolean).