hey guys,been browsing this site for a few weeks,but this is my first post.
As you might guess by my problem I'm a C++ noob.

I'm tryin to make a program in which the user inputs an array of double, I then use bubble sort to to get it into descending order, and output it in the correct order.

the issue I'm having is that after I sort the array, only the first number comes out as a double, the rest are all integers. How can I fix it so that all the numbers come out at the end as double??

here's my code:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    double set[50];//sets max number of values to 50
    int size, a, b, t, i;

cout << "How many values would you like to enter??\n";
    cin >> size;

while (size>50)
    {
        cout << "That is above 50" << endl;
        cin >> size;
    }

cout << "Please enter the values:\n";
    for (i=0; i<size; i++) 
    cin >> set[i];

for (a=1; a<size; a++) 
        for (b=size-1; b>=a; b--) {
            if(set[b-1] < set[b]) {

t=set[b-1];
                set[b-1] = set[b];
                set[b] = t;
                }
            }

cout << "here are your values in order:\n";
    for (t=0; t<size; t++)
    cout << set[t] << "\n";

return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

You are using the int variable "t" as your temporary value when you do your swap.

When you try to store a double to an int it truncates the floating point part of the number.

C++ arrays start at element 0, NOT element 1. The reason your first element is still a double is because your algorithm starts at element 1 instead of element 0. I'd be willing to bet that your first value is not only still a double but also not in its proper sorted position.

I think it's also worth while to note that you don't have a swap flag. You really should think about adding one to speed up completion a little.

Yeah you're right about the starting at 1. Cheers. I'll change that to 0 now. I feckin knew that already and all...