Hi,

I was trying to use my friend's hard drive the other day, but my Windows computer would not recognize it because it was in a Mac file format.
I'm now trying to create a program (simple cli), pretty much a file folder, but that would be able to read (and eventually copy from) Mac and Linux file formatted drives as well.
I'm still at the starting stages (I'm still a newbie) and I've been looking around the web trying to find a way to simply look at the drives connected to the computer.
So far, the only way I've found to do it is to use WMI. The thing is, if I use WMI, will I still be able to read file formats that windows does not recognize?
If there are any other ways that anyone can think of to do this, I would be very grateful.
Thanks,

theweirdone

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

i would suggest looking into what format the mac drive is in and see if windows can support it but a easier way to do this would be to get a bootable version of linux and mount the drive it would be quick can painless to do in linux

In most cases, the CD or flash media should be compatible. I use CD and flash drives on Linux all the time and when I save files to them, I can just move the drives to Windows and read the files off them, whether it be office files, photos or anything else.
Flash drives come formatted as FAT (or FAT16) generally, and CD / DVD files are usually saved as iso9660. You should use Joliet,etc. for more Windows compatiblity in filenames (long filename support).
Coming from a Mac, this should be the same way. Mac should be able to both format the flash drives as FAT and save to the CD drives as iso9660, though it may be not be the default.
You should have your colleagues specifically choose to use those formats, otherwise the Mac will most likely format the drives as hfs+ (or whatever is common now). This means that although the files may be there, the "file system format" would be unreadable on a PC.