Hi guys,

Im pretty new to programming so bear with me if you think this is baby stuff:P

Ive just been introduced to methods last weeks and after a week of study Im no better at understanding them.

The problem is I just seem to grasp how to you them or how the syntax works with them, i.e. If I wanted to write a method that say returned a random value.

Basically I could just really use some adivce on methods and how to try and undertsnad them and understand how to use them.

Thanks a million for any help:)
David

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

methods are operations. for example, say you have a car. what operation would you want to perform on a car? e.g. drive, refuel, checkMileage, brake, etc. basically thats it. you use methods on objects. in this case, car would be the class, and perhaps Lambhorgini Murciealago would be the object, which is instantiated from the car class..

Ok that makes quite a bit of sense,

Do you think you could give me an example of a working method?

Just something simple to help me get it?

Thanks
Dave

public class Number
{
	//this variable is non static, therefore it needs an instance of Number
	//to hold it, all the different instances have different theNumber
	//variables inside them
	public int theNumber;

//this variable is static, all the numbers have the same count variable, a
	//number doesnt even have to be created (if it wasnt private you could say
	//Number.count++; without ever using new Number(2);
	private static int count = 0;

public Number(int integer)
	{
		this.theNumber = integer;

//this increases the static count variable shared between all the numbers, every time
                //the constructor is called, the same count variable is increased!
		count++;
	}

//these methods are non static, they can be accessed through number.addThisToMe(annotherNumber)
	//where annotherNumber and number were created like this: Number number = new Number(2);
	public void addThisToMe(Number number)
	{