Hello!

Does anyone have any idea about Futoshiki Puzzle Solver.
I'm new to programming and i want to make a puzzle solver in java.

Any helpful reply would be regarded.
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Yes, I have an idea that I would Google it before asking others about it on a forum.

In fact, I did Google it and found a lot of results. Give it a try.

thanx for ur reply.
i've been through google but could'nt find anything about futoshiki code or how to implement it in java.

Sorry abt my nudging question.

Okay, I just learned what a futoshiki puzzle is - never saw one before. Fun, in that sudoku/ken-ken sort of way.

Okay, so you want to make a solver? How much Java do you know? Where would you start?

Well i won'nt say that i'm an expert but u can say i'm intermediate student of java.

Okay, then. Where would you start in trying to solve this sort of problem?

Well i know a bit about it.
i would start off with 3 2d arrays, 1st array for Grid
2nd array for Row Constraints and 3rd array for column constraint.
then fill the grid and constraints.

after that i'm stuck that how to do the main solver logic to check the rules.

if u want to have a look at my code i can post it here.

How would you apply the constraints?

(I haven't got a plan here, so I'm just going to ask you questions and see what comes out... :) )

Okay have a look at it pls if u have any question then feel free to ask me pls.

public class Futoshiki
    public static final int GRIDSIZE = 4;

public Futoshiki()
    {
        squares = new int[GRIDSIZE][GRIDSIZE];
        rowConstraints = new String[GRIDSIZE][GRIDSIZE - 1];
        columnConstraints = new String[GRIDSIZE][GRIDSIZE - 1];

for (int row = 0; row < GRIDSIZE; row++) {
            for (int column = 0; column < GRIDSIZE - 1; column++) {
                rowConstraints[row][column] = " ";
            }
        }

//set up initial column constraints (no constraints)
        for (int column = 0; column < GRIDSIZE; column++) {